Blog · Tags

The Mystery Blogger Award

It’s been a while since I’ve done a tag post, I was recently tagged by Mae to do the Mystery Blogger award. The Mystery Blogger Award is a book tag created by Okoto Enigma to find and promote bloggers who “haven’t been discovered yet”. I think it’s a great idea and helps people discover new and fun blogs to follow.

THE RULES

  • Put the award logo/image on your blog.
  • List the rules.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • You have to nominate 10 – 20 people.
  • Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog.
  • Answer the questions by the person who nominated you.
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify).
  • Share a link to your best post(s).

THREE THINGS ABOUT ME

  1. If I’m visiting somewhere I also check to see if they have a museum or an art gallery. I am a history and art nerd and I can’t stop myself from heading inside one if I see it.
  2. I love trying different food, but I hate onions, celery, mash potatoes, swede and nuts. Plus pretty much all British food. My dad and sister were so happy that they could finally have roast Sunday dinners when I went to uni. My mum looked forward to me coming home because then she didn’t have to eat it.
  3. Past few years I’ve started getting into playing video games after not playing any since I was a teenager! I mostly play Sims 4 & Medieval, Dragon Age Inquisition, and Alice Madness Returns.

QUESTIONS FOR ME

  1. Who is your least favourite character from a book and why?
    • Oh this is so difficult! I think that I would have to go with… Chaol from the Throne of Glass series. I liked him in the first two books but then I found that he became such an arse. I struggled reading Tower of Dawn with him being the main focus of the book and wished that it had stayed a novella like SJM originally pitched it as.
  2. What’s a book that surprised you the most?
    • Probably Blood and Sand by C.V. Wyk. I put off reading book for months after I got (I received it in a Fairyloot book box) because the blurb just wasn’t that great. On a whim I decided to read it last year and it became one of my favourite books of the year.
  3. What genre of books do you generally avoid and why?
    • I usually avoid reading crime (usually only if it’s set in the modern day) and contemporaries/general fiction. Honestly, I’m not that keen on reading books about detectives and police and stuff like that. Also, books set in the modern day just don’t appeal to me that much and I tend to avoid it.
  4. Is there a book that was released independently that you wish would be a series?
    • To Kill a Kingdom – I loved this book and I would love there to be more stories with Lira and Elian.
    • The Prince and the Dressmaker – I think that this is a great graphic novel and I want more. *makes grabby hands*
    • Crimson Bound – I thought this was a great book and it’s another where I just want more of the characters. This is in
  5. What’s a book you love that generally get’s negative reviews?
    • This was so difficult. If it it was the opposite way around I probably would have been able to find a book so much easier.
    • These Rebel Waves by Sara Raasch has the lowest Goodreads rating (3.71 stars) of a book I rated 5 stars.

MY NOMINEES

Christine – PurpleManatees

Kevin and Brooke – QuillQuotes

Rhi – Fire to the Poppies

Arina – The Paperback Voyager

Rebecca – Rebecca Crunden

Holly – Holly reads a lot

Gabby – The Athenaeum

Lu – Lu Reviews Books

Joanna – TheGeekishBrunette

Rachel – Journal of a Bibliophile

(Of course, if you’ve been tagged and you don’t want to do this then you don’t have to.)

QUESTIONS FOR MY NOMINEES

  1. Do you like to listen to music while reading?
  2. What are your favourite genres to read?
  3. Who is a character you hate that everyone seems to love?
  4. What are your highest and lowest rated books you’ve read so far this year?
  5. Is there a book that everyone seems to recommend but you have no interest in ever reading?

MY FAVOURITE POSTS

I decided to pick three posts; Short Series vs Long Series: Which Do I Prefer?, Book Editions That I Want, and Five of My Favourite Fairy-Tale Retellings. These are three posts that I spent a lot of time on and had a lot of fun while writing (and researching) them.

Some book reviews; Book Re-Read Review: Howl’s Moving Castle by Diane Wynne Jones, which is me basically fangirling over this book, and Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalo.


Lastly, don’t forget to like and follow my blog for more! Until next time, stay safe and keep on reading! 

19 thoughts on “The Mystery Blogger Award

  1. Loved your answers! For some reason whenever I see fantasy I always assume it’s a series and I prefer standalones because I always forget what happened in previous books so I was surprised Crimson Bound and To Kill a Kingdom were standalones!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊
      Yeah I thought that they were a part/start of a series too! So many fantasy books are a series that it’s a bit of a surprise when they’re a standalone!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh thanks for tagging me! I’ll try and fill this out this week! ❤

    I always go straight to art galleries and museums in new places, too. There are so many good ones! When I randomly went to the Amsterdam Museum on my last visit, they had a mummy exhibit and the seal was broken on the sarcophagus. My partner and I were freaking out, haha. Very interesting stuff in that one! The Dublin museum is great as well. Last time I was they had a Viking exhibit on. Ooooh, and Washington DC has *tonnes* of free galleries and museums. You can spend hours walking around and not have to pay 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love this! I do the same thing with art museums, my mom and I went to one in Oceanside (in California) and it was tiny but FILLED with awesome art pieces!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I don’t think crime is really for me but I’ve been trying to read more scifi recently 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment